Skip to content

2013 USDA Secretarial Drought Designations

January 9, 2013

USDA has designated 597 counties in 14 states as natural disaster areas due to ongoing drought conditions.  To qualify as disaster areas, these counties endured severe to extraordinary drought for at least 8 weeks in a row.  The Chicago Tribune reports that more than half of these counties (351) are in the Wheat Belt running through Texas, Oklahoma, Kansas, Colorado and South Dakota.  However, counties designated as natural disaster areas are also found in Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Georgia, Hawaii, Missouri, New Mexico, Nevada, South Carolina and Utah.  Read more … 

For a list of designated drought disaster counties in Arkansas, visit the USDA Drought and Drought Assistance website … 


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: